Khadija Ouajjani shares her exciting internship search experience

Incredible India.

Source: Khadija Ouajjani’s blog BREAKFAST TABLE 

Come to think about it, I was looking for an internship within Brazil or China mainly because they were emergent countries. I forgot about the others and most importantly about India. Yet India is achieving such a fast global economic growth and ranking third in the world in the IT field. Yet Morocco’s affinity with the Indian culture is so widespread it’s actually a cliché. Yet India hasn’t earned its independence that long ago and is achieving impressive results compared to several old invaders. Yet Indians seem as warm, open and friendly as Moroccans.

It was like being struck suddenly. India would be such a perfect destination! I dropped all the offers once I had a skype interview with Mr. Ambulkar: he was commited, willing to invest his effort and time on me and guaranteeing a colourful result in the end. I started the procedures right after. I enrolled other people as well. I was too excited I wanted to share it with everybody. My parents were supportive and my friends were excited for me as well. Of course, there were some dream killers, some sceptics and others who’d delightfully smile at me while mocking me in my back. There were some who enrolled but weren’t motivated enough and others who were just too lazy or too scared. You’ll get to see so many features of people during such time, you’ll probably get depressed or want to quit or don’t feel like doing it at all. I can understand that: So, to you who’s intending to apply, all I can tell you is to be truly motivated for once you’re launched, no problem will be big enough and no mocking would be noticeable at all. Just go for it with all your might and don’t be lazy about it. Just choose to do it and to fully commit to it!

I had a fair share of skype interviews and opportunities organized by Edulab, but either they didn’t reply or the assignments weren’t “final project” material. As March, the month when I’m supposed to start, was getting nearer and nearer, I was starting to feel anxious. It turned out Edulab needed more time to find a suitable professional internship that would actually meet their safety requirements and standards. So, I dropped it for March with the intention to still carry on for a summer opportunity.

This indeed happened while I was performing my internship in Tangier: The Edulab Team arranged for a phone interview. The company was the perfect fit to what I do and I got the internship! It was as sudden as that in the end.

No, I didn’t need relations or someone’s pleading or help with the papers and so and so. There were only me, my parents’ and friends’ support and the wonderful team of Edulab who is, up to now and for the rest of the internship, monitoring me and looking after the good follow-through of the internship. I can always ask either the Edulab team located in Mumbai or Mr. Christopher about anything. In fact, thanks to these people, my Indian SIM card and my internet connection were arranged within a day and I know now I’m not alone at all in this green city: there are the friends I’m making here and there’s Mr. Christopher and the Edulab Team.

My parents were freaked out. Now that the thing is for real, they felt I was too small for such a big plan. But thanks to the heavy information and contacts that Edulab provides, they were at least assured. Seeing me popping up with two days on Skype and emailing them cooled them down. So yeah, your parents will freak out, specially perhaps because “it’s India”. But as far as I’ve seen, it’s too exaggerated and as long as you keep yourself safe like you would do in your hometown, then there’s no worry. You just keep in mind you’re seen as a foreigner and therefore, you pay some attention but nothing to be worried or paranoid about.

I’ll be blogging as much as possible about this delightful opportunity. If you have any question or inquiry, just see with Edulab or mail me at didjay.breakfast.table(at)gmail.com I’d be more than happy to help any soul eager to widen his/her perspective as long as motivation and strong will are there.

Published by:

Edulab

Edulab is an endeavor by Edutrotters Private Limited which is modeled for individuals who understand the importance of being a global citizen. We are profit organization with underlining social objectives, to provide intercultural learning and career solutions. What others consider as cultural gaps we see them as opportunities to Experience, Learn and Grow. Our Mission ‘To help people gain international learning experience, and develop skills for living in a globally interdependent and culturally diverse world.’ For any queries write to us: info@edulab.in

Categories India, Internship, TravelTags , , , , , Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

