Ann King: ‘Apprenticeships should be designed to challenge the brightest school leavers’

By The Sentinel  |  Posted: February 12, 2014

Ann King: ‘Apprenticeships should be designed to challenge the brightest school leavers’

BY the age of 14 I knew I wanted to be a journalist. Not only that, I knew I would be a journalist. I know – smug and precocious.

What I hadn’t anticipated however was that I would carve out my career in local newspapers.

Back then, at St John’s RC Comprehensive in Bishop Auckland, I had my sights set on London. Not aiming for the cut throat world of the nationals, or the prestige of the BBC, but London was where the glamorous world of magazines lay and my teenage dream was to join the ranks of Smash Hits, interviewing Take That every other week.

So from County Durham I suppose I made it half way to the capital, but I’ve never felt I only achieved half my ambitions.

And I put that down to being lucky enough to find out about and be accepted for a journalism apprenticeship opportunity before I took up a university offer.

From the age of 19 I was actually out there doing it – not dreaming about it, or working towards it or hoping for a big break. Looking back, I suppose I’d already been given that break – an apprenticeship with value.

Obviously my employer at the time got their money’s worth (or so I like to think) and benefited in a number of ways.

Read more: http://www.stokesentinel.co.uk/Ann-King-8216-Apprenticeships-designed-challenge/story-20613967-detail/story.html#ixzz2tfXpzwL8

Published by:

Edulab

Edulab is an endeavor by Edutrotters Private Limited which is modeled for individuals who understand the importance of being a global citizen. We are profit organization with underlining social objectives, to provide intercultural learning and career solutions. What others consider as cultural gaps we see them as opportunities to Experience, Learn and Grow. Our Mission ‘To help people gain international learning experience, and develop skills for living in a globally interdependent and culturally diverse world.’ For any queries write to us: info@edulab.in

Categories UncategorizedTags , , , , Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

